TSE Honors Ten in 2007 International Innovation Awards; Winners Hail from the U.S., Mexico, Germany

TSE STAFF
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print
Share on email

Carlsbad, CA – In today’s competitive business environment where markets, technology and customer needs are changing rapidly, it is more important than ever to identify and nurture innovative ideas.  Who are the shakeup artists of 2007?  The winners of Trade Show Executive’s 2007 International Innovation Awards were announced today by Trade Show Executive, and they include a range of people, products and strategies that have taken root in the exhibition industry worldwide.

  • InXpo was commended for advancing the concept of virtual trade shows, offering exhibitors a vehicle to reach more customers while giving organizers another platform to build their brand and a new revenue stream.
  • The International Association of Assembly Managers took the initiative after Hurricane Katrina and compiled a detailed guidebook for operating convention centers as emergency shelters.
  • The Southern Nevada Teamsters Convention Training Trust launched the Registered Convention Apprenticeship Training Program in August  2001, and today can point to the tremendous results it has generated for the exhibition industry in Las Vegas.
  • Charles W. Allen, chairman and CEO of C.W. Allen Group, was saluted for a lifetime of  innovations that were visionary and far off the beaten track, starting with literature carousels in the ‘80s to HypoSurface™ which debuted last year.
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center  won for its innovative  grid of 10’x10’ squares permanently etched into the exhibit floor, which is making move-in faster and reducing costs.
  • Messe Stuttgart designed a layered ventilation system with ducts at the ground level of the building instead of near the ceiling, a world first in exhibition hall construction.  When attendees and exhibitors cite the new Stuttgart Trade Fair Centre as providing a “great atmosphere to conduct business,” they may be praising the ventilation system in the building as much as the exposition.
  • Messe Dusseldorf, Messe Munchen and Messe Hanover — three  exhibition organizers/exhibition centers which are essentially competitors —  teamed up to build the Shanghai New International Expo Center (SNIEC). The partnership paid off for the Teutonic trio to the point that it is being expanded into a consulting service for the entire Chinese market.
  • Jaime Salazar hosts a weekly radio show in Mexico  that entertains and enlightens show organizers, government officials and the general public about the value of  exhibitions — and pulls an impressive 2.0 in the ratings, drawing upwards of 400,000 listeners.
  • Kaon Interactive, Inc. developed virtual product models that offer extraordinary realism and  interactivity. They enable exhibitors to showcase new products when the samples are unavailable and deliver a consistent experience across multiple channels – at the show, in the field and on the web.
  • ITN International’s Badge Authentication System allows attendees and exhibitors to pick up their entire delegation’s badges at once and activate them as they enter the show floor instead of making everyone stand in line to claim their badges.

Trade Show Executive commends the ten winners for their creative energy which has yielded new value for exhibitors, attendees and the exposition industry as a whole.

Reach Malcolm Lotzof, InXpo, at (847) 735-1800 or mlotzof@inxpo.com; Dexter King, IAAM, at (972) 538-1017 or dexter.king@iaam.org; Rebecca Smith, Teamsters Local 631, at (702) 429-9647 or rsmith@631train.com; Charles Allen at (205) 263-0555 or charles@cwallengroup.com; Courtney Dyer, Virginia Beach Convention Center general manager, at (757) 385-2000 or cdyer@vbgov.com; Roland Bleinroth, Messe Stuttgart, at +49 0711-2255-0783 or +49-0711-2255-0783 or roland.bleinroth@messe-stuttgart.de ; Anne Meerboth-Maltz at  (312) 718-5180 or ameerboth@mdna.com; Jaime Salazar at +52 (55) 9113-1040 or www.vanexpo.com.mx; Ivan Lazarev, ITN, at (301) 654-0528 or ilazarev@bcard.net.