This Just In
  • Tom Cindric joins Winsight as President, Exhibitions to oversee National Restaurant Show. Mary Pat Heftman now Vice Chairman of Winsight.
  • Emerald Expositions Events Inc. tapped former UBM exec, Sally Shankland, to serve as its President and CEO. Phil Evans continues as CFO.
  • The division of Informa PLC created by the combination of UBM and Informa has been renamed and rebranded as Informa Markets.
  • Trade Show Executive won three prestigious ASBPE “Azbee” Awards in Chicago. TSE is also a national finalist for Magazine of the Year Award.
  • Informa PLC launched Informa Ventures offering capital, access to markets, mentorship, and expertise to knowledge and information start-ups.
  • Freeman Vice Chair Carrie Freeman Parsons promoted to Chair replacing Don Freeman, who will become Chairman Emeritus in July.
  • Marketplace Events (MPE), producer of 66 consumer shows in North America, acquired the Arizona Bridal Shows from Townsquare Live Events LLC.
  • Nominations for 2019 Trailblazers Opens for Trade Show Executive’s Trailblazers program which recognizes the industry’s up-and-comers.
  • Informa Exhibitions reported a 6.7% jump in underlying revenues for 2018 even as it absorbed the blockbuster acquisition of UBM.

Trade Show Executive Wins Six Editorial and Design Awards from APEX; and One Tabbie Award from TABPI

August 5, 2005
Share On:

Carlsbad, CA - Trade Show Executive magazine won a record six editorial and design awards in the 17th Annual APEX Awards for Publication Excellence, including a Grand Award for Overall Editorial & Design Excellence in the Magazine category. There were 4,942 entries this year. Award certificates and plaque were presented to TSE in these categories:

  • Grand Award, Magazine Category, for Editorial and Design;
  • Columns & Departments, for “Trending & Spending,” April 2004 to March 2005;
  • How-To Writing, for “Global Best Practices”  in April 2004;
  • Feature Writing, for “Spotlight on Innovation Awards,” June 2004;
  •  Magazine Design, for the March 2005 “Dig This” issue which covered convention center expansions and new builds as well as numerous feature articles and departments for show organizers;
  • Covers, for “Tech Trek 2005” in February 2005.

“We were elated by the number and range of awards that the TSE team won this year,” says Darlene Gudea, Publisher and Editor. “It takes a team with diverse talents and dedication to produce a magazine month after month that offers innovative ideas for show organizers and is honored by leading journalists.


“The fact that we won in so many categories is a tribute to our staff of high achievers including (in alphabetical order):  Frank Chow, Renee Di Iulio, Mark Feldman, Lisa Goell Sinicki, Joan Hamby,  and Mike Spitzer, plus our columnists and contributors Sandi Cain, Bob Dallmeyer, Jerry Kallman, David Kaminer and Maria Lenhart.”


Trade Show Executive magazine was founded in 2000 as a bi-monthly magazine. Today, TSE is audited by BPA Worldwide andpublishes 12 monthly issues;  an annual directory of the World’s Top Convention Centers; the E-Clips Breaking News ™ e-mail newsletter; the website;  the annual SISO Membership Directory for the Society of Independent Show Organizers; and is the publishing sponsor of the CEIR Exhibition Industry Index and CEIR’s Exhibition Industry Senior Executives Summit (EISIS) scheduled Sept. 13 at the Washington, DC Convention Center.


TSE’s Seventh Award Came from TABPI

Trade Show Executive magazine also won a 2005 Tabbie Award for its Trending & Spending  column in a worldwide editorial competition sponsored by the Trade, Association and Business Publications International (TABPI ) in partnership with the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASBPE), Minett Media from the United Kingdom, and   Australia's Society of Editors NSW.

Last year, Trade Show Executive magazine won four awards from APEX and a Silver Award from the American Society of Business Publication Editors.

Reach Darlene Gudea, Publisher & Editor, Trade Show Executive magazine at (760) 931-4857 or; APEX awards at; TABPI Awards at

Share On: